Good News/Bad News

Well, I got my first rejection letter from a PhD program tonight.  I think we all saw that coming.    I’m not quite so torn up about it as one might think, but in all honesty, I don’t think it’s entirely set in.

In better news, I am the new author of the “Surviving ED” blog at HealthyPlace.  My “About Me” section posted today and I’ll be blogging regularly on Thursdays.  (Angela Gambrel has been writing it for the past two years and I hope I can live up to her excellent insight and writing!)

Check out the “About Me” link above and learn some things you may not have known before.  And comment on the blog!  I fear if no one comments then I’ll get sacked.  ;-)

6 thoughts on “Good News/Bad News

  1. You are an endless fountain of wit and bravery and hilarity and dance and intelligence and beauty and faith and inspiration and grace. And other things. I AM SO PROUD OF YOU!!! It’s so hard. But hang in there. The Ph.D is going to happen, and it happened because you weren’t meant for that program. And hey, JK Rowling, man (who happens to be an example in every possible scenario). She made the other publishers suck their own toes.

    Congratulations on the blog!

    • JK Rowling is absolutely the correct person to quote in any situation. I’m so glad we both understand this.

      Thanks for the encouraging words, friend. I’m hanging in there, even if it’s only by my fingernails at points.

      I miss you!

  2. I agree—the Ph.D. will happen one way or another, don’t get discouraged by one rejection! I got rejected from my first choice school for undergrad before ending up where I am now, which has turned out to be the perfect school for me. Hang in there, things will work out! You look beautiful and sound amazingly smart and poised in your video. I’m looking forward to reading your blog!

  3. If you ever want to talk PhD programs, let me know. My blog kind of addresses my adventures in grad school, but I’ve been there for a while. You can always email me and I can tell you the obnoxious details. I got rejected from every school I applied to. I expected to get rejected from them all. I had no idea what I was doing when I was going through the application process, and I did it all last minute. Then I found out why I got into the school that I got into, and it seemed like an excellent fit. You can say I got lucky, I guess…

    • Sounds like exactly my story, Shelley. I only decided in the past 4 months to go for a PhD, and so the entire process has been very rushed! I, too, am expecting to get rejected from them all — but I figure this just gives me more time to find the perfect school to apply to next year!

Leave a Reply

