Mememememeeeeeee

Dawn tagged me in this little meme, then Sarah completed it, and then I thought, “Well, now I really have no reason not to do this.”  Especially since A) I don’t really want to do my therapy homework right now and B) the blog post I’ve been working on is horribly depressing.  Hopefully this will be a little more light-hearted.

I’m not following all the rules.  I couldn’t think of 11 questions for someone else if I wanted to right now.  Most of what is on my brain right now is the fact that I have to eat breakfast in 10 hours.  (But I’m certainly not anxious about it or anything.)

Eleven Random Facts About Me:

  1. I have a thing about odd numbers.  As in, I prefer them.  I don’t know why, but they certainly play out in a lot of my food rituals.
  2. I also have a thing about symmetry.  My college roommate can attest to this.
  3. I was a girl scout.  Mostly for the cookies.
  4. The full list of musical instruments I played in ensembles:  flute, piccolo, bassoon, oboe, bass recorder, trombone, tuba (I marched with that sucker), clarinet, piano.  
  5. I can also play a scale or two on violin.  And “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star.”  AND the ABC’s.  (Mad props to you if you know why that last one is so completely unimpressive.)
  6. I have zero sense of style.  My idea of “good fashion” is a sweatshirt, running shorts, and knee high socks.  And flip flops, natch.
  7. I love poetry.  It speaks to my heart and is one form of communication that can get through, even in the worst of times.
  8. Complete list of colours I have, at one time or another, dyed my hair:  Black, light brown, Auburn, hot pink, red, blue, green.
  9. I had my hair cut short for the first time at age 10.  I was frequently mistaken for a boy.
  10. When I was nine, I decided I wanted to go to Harvard Medical School and become a neurosurgeon.
  11. I dropped out of grad school (in no small part due to a crippling depression).

Eleven Answers for Eleven Questions:

  1. What is your greatest dream in life?  I wish I knew.  It might ignite a flame under my unmotivated-for-recovery arse.
  2. In what ways has your life turned out like you hoped?  I have amazing, spectacular friends that I don’t even somewhat deserve.  I don’t know why they keep hanging around, but I’m glad they do.
  3. In what ways has your life been not at all like you hoped?  I don’t know, really — to be honest, I didn’t think I would live past 25, so it’s all kind of unplanned territory from here on out.
  4. If you could give one piece of advice to someone, what would it be?  You are the beloved — believe and rest and live out of that.
  5. What is your favourite and least favourite chore?  Favourite: Washing dishes by hand Least Favourite:  Unloading/re-loading the dishwasher, cleaning my room (ahem, former roommates of mine in the blogosphere, insert your stories of my disaster-area-qualified room here).
  6. What is your favourite recipe to make?  Baked macaroni and cheese.
  7. Do you have a book (or movie) that you could read/see many times over and still love?  Book: Wasted by Marya Hornbacher (I know, I know.  I shouldn’t read this one over and over and over), Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling; Movie: When Harry Met Sally
  8. Who has been or is the biggest influence in your life and in who you are becoming?  My high school history teacher saved my life.  Literally.  Currently, I’m pretty sure that Jesus put my friend Meghan in my life to teach me who He is and what life in Him looks like.  (She’s a brilliant example, I am a poor student.)
  9. What are three great, wonderful, positive things about you?  I….hell, I don’t know.  
  10. What are you most thankful for in your life? My friends and church community.
  11. What is the best advice you have ever received?  “Endure the anxiety. You’re going to feel anxious whether you eat enough or don’t eat enough, so you might as well choose the action that gets you closer to your goals and lines up with your values, right?”  – As stated to me by Sarah, early on in my recovery process.

 

What are your answers to these questions?  I want to know!

2 thoughts on “Mememememeeeeeee

  1. thanks :)
    I abso-freakin-lutely LOVE lists. And it makes me smile that now 2 people have indulged my list fetish. Love the advice you would give, take it to heart yourself dear one!

    And since you weren’t able to think of great things about yourself, let me start you off…..
    You are an extremely caring person. You may be going through hell yourself but yet you care enough about others to share your journey and encourage others in their journeys.
    You are creative, your art and writing are beautiful.
    You have faith, even when you don’t think you do. Even when you are sure you have given up on everything of hope, you still know God is with you. You still know (somewhere deep down, often below your conscious mind) that you are His beloved, even when you don’t feel it.

    Anyone else want to tell Jess some really wonderful things about herself?

    Oh, and why oh why do my friends all like chores I hate?????? Seriously I wanted to break every dish I own yesterday just to have an excuse to NOT wash them by hand!

    Love you dear one. Sending lots of prayers and hugs your way.

  2. I’ll answer number 9 for you:
    YOU ARE BRILLIANT.
    YOU ARE WITTY.
    YOU ARE UBER PLEASANT TO BE AROUND.

    (I mean all of those things with my whole heart.)

    I heart M(r)s. Schoen.

    That number 11 advice is mind-blowingly good stuff.

Leave a Reply

