Dinner with a Potential Love Interest

(Also known as a “date”)

So, a few years ago, I was engaged. When I broke of the engagement, I was more or less scared off of dating entirely. Compound that with two years of anorexia-deadened sex drive, and I haven’t been on a date in, oh, years. So it’s kind of a big deal that I signed up (on a whim) for a Christian dating site. Just one of those free ten day trials, just to see what was out there. I’ve had a number of friends have great success with the online dating world, so I figured why not?

My reasoning:

  • There’s no time like the present
  • I’m not getting any younger
  • Now that I’m not starving, I have to deal with like, feelings, and some of those feelings include “Gee, I kind of miss having a boy.”
  • With the arrival of my first nephew, my biological clock started ticking.  (Seriously, he’s so cute my uterus hurts just looking at him.)

So I signed up, created a profile, and decided to see what happens. Honestly, I didn’t get many hits (man, did my ED have a field day with that), but I did get one. A guy from my side of town who was a missionary kid in Africa. We started emailing back and forth and tonight we’ll go out for dinner. I’m trying my hardest not to freak out about it.

Luckily, this guy stated in his profile that while he is marriage-minded, he wants to take things slow and let a friendship develop first. Fine.by.me. Secondly, although we’re going out to dinner, we’re going out for Ethiopian food — and ethnic food is always easier for me to consume without guilt. Part of my food philosophy is that I want to explore different cultures through their foods and customs, so I’m actually looking forward to trying something new.

I’m not looking forward to the first date (though we haven’t really called it a date) awkwardness and self-consciousness, but I think we’ve been talking enough that I’ll at least feel somewhat comfortable with him. It should be interesting regardless.

As a bonus, I’m wearing a cute new dress and I’m having a moderately good hair day. Score.

Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “Dinner with a Potential Love Interest

  1. When is your date? And did you like Ethiopian food? (I found myself wishing the whole time it was Indian food, but maybe the Ethiopian restaurant I went to wasn’t that good!)

Leave a Reply

