Gallery

Today, I thought I’d share with you some of the art that I’ve been doing in my journals throughout my recovery.  I’ll try to post them in chronological order, but know that not all of my recovery art is represented here.  Some of the more painful ones aren’t posted and some, I’ll admit, I’ve even trashed.  Also, please excuse the poor lighting — these were taken on my phone.  And, just to keep things interesting, a poem.

This is a poem that I wrote towards the end of my time in residential in a group on self-esteem.  I forget the actual prompt, though it may have been as basic as “write a poem about your self-esteem.”

Esteem

Stronger than she knows,
but she’d never believe it.

Walls built up
around her heart
and her head.
The positive messages
can’t get in
for all the shit
she plays to herself
over and over again.

Stronger than she knows,
if she’d only believe it.

Walls that need sledgehammers,
pickaxes,
or a weapon stronger
than twenty years
of self-destructive talk.
Walls that can only be
torn down
with as much work
as they required to build.

Stronger than she knows,
how I hope she’ll believe it.

Walls so strong only
Love
will prevail.
Years of self-hatred
combatted with
years of positive messages
from those around her,
until one day
She tells it
to herself.

2 thoughts on “Gallery

  1. Very powerfull stuff, Jess.
    Your poem is incredible.
    Finally she tells it to herself….

    Finally she sees it in herself.
    Fibnally she believes herself.
    Finally she knows herself.
    Finally, she sees herself through HIS eyes.

  2. Jess this is so raw and powerful. Your poem is great, and I can relate to it so much.

    That day will come when you wholeheartedly believe in your own true beauty :) I know it will :)

    Stay strong! You are amazing <3

    Scott

Leave a Reply

