The Week in Review

Any other children of the 90s out there with fond memories of watching the Animaniacs in the afternoons after school?

I was always a fan of the “Good News/Bad News” segments, which is a little disturbing when you consider just how pessimistic that segment always was.

At any rate, I present to you this week in review – “Good News/Bad News” style:

Good News: My hair is growing out!  And patches that were a little baldish due to some hair loss this spring (what, like I was malnourished or something?) are filling in!
Bad News: It’s growing back gray.

Good News: My body is not, according to my dietician, in starvation mode all the time anymore!
Bad News: My body is, according to my dietician, in semi-starvation mode a lot of the time, due to my tendency to exercise too much and eat too little and too infrequently (for someone who is half-marathon training, anyway).

Good News: I didn’t fall on my trail run this morning!
Bad News: I fell down the stairs before I ever left the house for the run.   (Which may or may not have been precipitated by a black out.  Oops.)

Good News: I went out with a group of girlfriends last night and didn’t have any major panicked moments while at the dessert bar we went to.
Bad News: A friend had to send me a text message a third of the way through the night letting me know that she wasn’t oblivious to the fact that I hadn’t eaten.  And then, magically, the spinach and artichoke dip was being passed my way.  Hm.

Good News: I’ve been eating fairly intuitively this week.
Bad News: When your anxiety is manifesting itself in waves of nausea and crying every half an hour, you don’t have much of an appetite.

Good News: After a few days restricting, I finally managed to get myself back on track today.  More or less.
Bad News: I have been catapulted back to four months ago, and just the thought of eating makes me want to cry.  Mealtimes are weepy.  Post-mealtimes are anxious and guilty and shameful.  I really thought we were past that.

If I were a more optimistic sort, I probably could have done this as “Bad News/Good News” – but where’s  the fun in that?

3 thoughts on “The Week in Review

  1. I agree with Missy–very cute way of calling you out. I like this “good/bad” list (and I don’t think your framing of the bad last makes you negative–it makes it a lot funnier, actually. Good call.) Like Caitlin said, “keep eating.”

    Actually, why am I even taking the time to comment? These two girls have said it all!

    Except this–love you!

Leave a Reply

